Lever addiction

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Goat
Levergunner 2.0

Lever addiction

Post by Goat »

I really do not know how this all began. It seems like such a short time ago that my favorite show was "Gunsmoke" and I wanted to be Matt Dillon. My early memories confirm a love of firearms because I always wore a cap pistol or was busy making my own wooden guns. Then I graduated to the "soldier" phase and all my guns needed to be full auto. Along comes deer hunting in the deep south and shotguns with buckshot and "big" rifles steal my attentions. I remember checking every book out of the local library that was about hunting or guns. Then one summer I cut grass for the whole season to buy my first deer rifle. Gunsmoke was forgotten and I thought that the 30/06 would do until I could get something "bigger and more powerful." Then, about three years later I found a Marlin 1894C .357 Magnum. I guess that was when the trouble really began. It was followed by other 1894s and a 336 in 35 Remington a couple of BLRs and more 1894s. Now it seems that I am not so concerned about "bigger and more powerful," but what works and feels good in my hands. Yes, I own a stainless steel synthetic stocked rifle that I have killed a lot of deer with -and have made memories with to boot -but any more the lever guns see most of the action when I head to the woods of Louisiana. It may be to hunt or just to be in God's Creation but the lever-action has stolen my heart. I am a blessed man with several levers to my name so why is it that they just keep on calling for me to get more? It really looks as if my first "customised" gun is going