Telling on myself

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Bill in Oregon
Advanced Levergunner

Telling on myself

Post by Bill in Oregon »

OK, I am going to share this at my own expense in hopes someone else will avoid duplicating my experience. Keep in mind I have been shooting for more than 50 years, and reloading for more than 40.
Today I took several firearms to the shooting range -- my first such outing in months. I have acquired several new to me long guns since last summer, and put up a sample of handloads for all. I have a Remington Model 8 in .30 Remington that I wanted to test fire before I sell it, so I grabbed the box of reloads for this rifle along with the usual odds and ends, and went to the range. My new XDS .45 shot like a dream. The little .32 Ortgies I am going to sell shot very, nicely as well, as did the Remington 11-48 in .410 and the late 1940s Marlin 39. My wife put in some more range time with her little S&W .38. Then I pulled out the Model 8. First shell in the magazine kind of got stuck. Great, I thought, the magazine spring is weak or broken. After fiddling with it, I thought that maybe chambering a shell by hand and shooting it would get the hitch out of the magazine's gitalong. No soap. The hand chambered shell wouldn't fully chamber. So I very carefully put the rifle back in its case with the mental note to give it immediate attention when I got home.