200 gr SWCs in .45 ACP & rubber bullets

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Machado
Levergunner 2.0

200 gr SWCs in .45 ACP & rubber bullets

Post by Machado »

Two questions:
1 - My favorite .45 ACP bullet is the RCBS 200 SWC. It weighs 208 grains in my alloy and I push it with 7.2 grains of Unique for 1,000 fps, roughly. The slap is very satisfactory, and it is an adequately accurate load. However, some wizard at the range warned that the 1911's slide flies backward in a hurry under this load, causing premature wear and possible frame cracks. I've been shooting this thing for over 15 years with no negative effects save dinging the cases, which is par for the course. What say ye? Any truth to this?
2 - Rubber bullets are not available in this country. Does anybody have any experience in making their own? I intend to use them in a S&W M-1950 .45 ACP revolver.
Thank you for your time.
Best,
Antonio
Hobie

Re: 200 gr SWCs in .45 ACP & rubber bullets

Post by Hobie »

Machado wrote:Two questions:
1 - My favorite .45 ACP bullet is the RCBS 200 SWC. It weighs 208 grains in my alloy and I push it with 7.2 grains of Unique for 1,000 fps, roughly. The slap is very satisfactory, and it is an adequately accurate load. However, some wizard at the range warned that the 1911's slide flies backward in a hurry under this load, causing premature wear and possible frame cracks. I've been shooting this thing for over 15 years with no negative effects save dinging the cases, which is par for the course. What say ye? Any truth to this?