.327 or .44 Spec. Charter Bulldog?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Triggernosis
Levergunner 2.0

.327 or .44 Spec. Charter Bulldog?

Post by Triggernosis »

I've got a hankering to try one of the Charter Arms Target models (4" bbl w/ adj. sights) in either .327 or .44 Spec.. To be used as a "field" gun, plinking, dispatching small game, defense against wild hogs, dogs, and impending global warming :roll: . (Sorry, couldn't resist - I work as a meteorologist). FWIW, I already have a reloading setup, though I've never loaded for pistol cartridges, only rifle.
Soooo, .327 or .44 Spec?
Tom
Eastern N.C.

NRA Rifle Instructor
4-H Rifle Instructor
HP Service Rifle competitor
stretch
Advanced Levergunner

Re: .327 or .44 Spec. Charter Bulldog?

Post by stretch »

44 Special. I think you've got more options for ammunition.
Also more options for bullets and brass, should you choose
to reload for it. 327 stuff will not be as common, varied, or cheap.

Besides, the 44 makes a bigger hole in things. 8) This
may be a slight disadvantage for small game hunting, but a
full-house 327 load might scramble your squirrel, too. A 44
loaded up to max gross weight is no slouch, and oughta do
for what you describe. Can't think how you might go wrong
with the 44.

On the other hand, if you just really, really want the 327, don't
let me dissuade ya! :D

-Stretch
bsaride
Senior Levergunner

Post by bsaride »