OT reloading, what do I have here?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
MikeS.
Levergunner 3.0

OT reloading, what do I have here?

Post by MikeS. »

Remember I'm still brand new to reloading and learning.

These are a set of .45acp dies I bought off e-bay. They were sold as "carbo" dies. The decapper-sizing dies doesn't say carbo or carbide but the bottom left is a sizing die and it says carbo.

Since 1 of my earlier ?s was about carbide dies and ya'all told me that the de-capping / sizing die was carbide I'm thinking this 1 isn't. But does it make sense I'd have 2 other sizing dies w/o a de-capper?

I reckonize the de-caping die and the bullet seating die, would the other 2 be sizing dies w/o a de-capper?

Forgive my lack of knowledge.

On the other hand while digging in my safe today I found more reloading gear I forgot I had bought 20+ years ago. A uniflow powder measure, a dial caliper, a case trimmer a balance beam scale and a couple priming tools. Nice.
MikeS.

Master Mason
Worshipful Master of Triluminar Lodge 117
Jefferson county, WV.
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Post by J Miller »

As best I can tell from your pics, what you have there is a carbide sizer die, an expander decapper die, and a seating die. The extra one appears to be a standard steel sizing die.

Remember ONLY the sizing die has the carbide ring. The other dies in the set do not. And only the sizing die will be marked as carbide, or carbo.

If you buy your dies new in the box the box will say that it is a Carbide Set.

Joe
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
Leverdude
Senior Levergunner