Lee factory crimp die

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
RJS
Levergunner 1.0

Lee factory crimp die

Post by RJS »

First off let me say hey to everybody!
I'm fairly new to reloading, only been loading a year or so. My problem is crimping jacketed bullets using the Lee fcd. The fcd seems to force the bullet down into the case as it crimps ,lowering my coal. It's not cartridge specific as it happens in 32H&R, .357mag and .44mag.
I also use Ranier plated and they crimp just fine , seems to be anything with a canelure.
Just wondering if anyone has had this problem,or a solution for it.
Thanks in advance,
Ron
Bigahh
Levergunner 3.0

Post by Bigahh »

1st off Welcome to the Forum. I use the LFCD myself, and have no problems whatsoever. Do you have it set correctly? Read the directions again thats where I would start off 1st. Otherwise maybe you have it sett too tight also
Leverluver
Senior Levergunner

Post by Leverluver »

If the location of the curvature of the cannelure indentation matches the shoulders of the collet of the crimp, at the seating depth you have chosen, it can squirt the bullet a little further into the case, as the crimp is applied. Usually this doesn't happen unless the case is a little (relatively) loose on the bullet anyway, but rarely have I seen a 44 mag die that didn't size sufficiently to not allow this. If you are talking only 5 or 10 thou, I wouldn't worry about it.
Griff
Posting leader...

Post by Griff »

1st: I'll agree with Bigahh, Welcome to the Forum!