OT - Makin Soap

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
cshold
Advanced Levergunner

OT - Makin Soap

Post by cshold »

I have been making my own homemade lye soap for about ten years.
Anyone else into soap and candle making?

Cliff
Levergunner 3.0

Re: OT - Makin Soap

Post by Cliff »

While I haven't made soap, I have heard of the soapifcation process being used to make homemade bullet lube for cast bullets. Interesting topic. ATB
milton
Levergunner 2.0

Post by milton »

Yep.made some lye soap;strong stuff! I even use it to degrease metal parts.
Those candles you show are interesting,how do you make them?
"Knowledge without understanding is a dangerous thing. For a little knowledge entices us to walk its path, a bit more provides the foundation on which we take our stand, and a sufficient amount can erect a wall of knowledge around us, trapping us in our own ignorance."
cnjarvis
Senior Levergunner

Post by cnjarvis »

Would love to make lye soap - good stuff. My granny made it until she was in her 80's. I just haven't gotten around to it yet.
alnitak
Senior Levergunner

Post by alnitak »

Casa, got a recipe? Is it easy to get started?
"From birth 'til death...we travel between the eternities." -- Print Ritter in Broken Trail
cshold
Advanced Levergunner

Post by cshold »

milton wrote:Yep.made some lye soap;strong stuff! I even use it to degrease metal parts.
Those candles you show are interesting,how do you make them?
Not candles, that is the soap fresh out of the molds.
Those two molds are used for both candle and soap making. :)
cshold
Advanced Levergunner

Post by cshold »