Who's a fan of the .270 Win?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Rusty
Advanced Levergunner

Who's a fan of the .270 Win?

Post by Rusty »

Jr. is about to branch out and get another one to go witht he one that was his grandfather's. After seeing the piece about uncle Jerry it got me to thinking.

It looks like you can get some pretty heavy bullets in it as well.
If you're gonna be stupid ya gotta be tough-
Isiah 55:8&9

It's easier to fool people than it is to convince them they have been fooled.
Buffboy
Levergunner 3.0

Re: Who's a fan of the .270 Win?

Post by Buffboy »

I've been hunting with my 270 since 1972 and reloading for it since 1976. It's been a fine rifle and caliber. It really shines with bullets from 90gr to 150gr. I've never loaded heavier than 150gr because there's no real point to it. You're just crowding your powder space with the long bullets, slowing it down and taking it out of its happy place.

IMO, if you're looking for a heavy bullet shooter, a 30-06 will give you much more selection at the heavier end with fewer drawbacks.
"People who object to weapons aren't abolishing violence, they're begging for rule by brute force, when the biggest, strongest animals among men were always automatically 'right.' Guns ended that, and social democracy is a hollow farce without an armed populace to make it work."

- L. Neil Smith
TedH
Advanced Levergunner

Post by TedH »

I've been using one for going on 20 years now. Although it hasn't seen as much use the last several years as leverguns have taken over most of my hunting.