New Rossi 92 - Finally!

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Jeff H
Levergunner 2.0

New Rossi 92 - Finally!

Post by Jeff H »

I have been shopping passively for another lever for several years.
In the last year, I had my mind made up what I wanted, but prices and availablity issues kept one just out of reach.

I just picked up a brand new Rossi 92 in .357 today after ordering it online just a couple days ago.
It's a 16" barrel carbine (the barrel length decision took me a while too) and I have to admit that this little lever really looks SO much better than I thought it would. The bluing and metalwork far exceeds my expectations. To give a fair example, it is about on par with what most of our domestic finishes from 25 years ago, which was not as good as 25 years prior to that, but better than some I have seen in recent years. The metalwork is very good - no grossly rounded edges, but no steak knife edges either. Overall - very nice work. I was worried because I saw a stainless Rossi .44 mag on a rack a few weeks ago and it was awful.

Wood is pleasingly acceptable. No fancy walnut, but shaped carefully with only a few cross-grain scratches that most people wouldn't notice on the end grain of the front of the comb. Wood to metal fit is really just fine as well. There are a couple little things, but nothing any worse than some of our own name brand guns which were made for hardware stores a few years ago.