.45acp and Lee Factory Crimp Die

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
DixieBoy
Senior Levergunner

.45acp and Lee Factory Crimp Die

Post by DixieBoy »

I've got a reloading question for you guys who shoot and load .45 acp rounds. I'm getting back into reloading. I've been told that some guys crimp their rounds (light taper crimp) and then go back and "smooth up" the whole round with one of the Lee Factory Crimp Dies.

How many of you all do this? How many do the entire crimping operation with the Factory Crimp Die?

I've never used one before, but have been told that they make your handloads just that much more professional looking. That sounds like a plus to me. I'd be interested in knowing how you guys familiar with this die use them. Thanks. - DixieBoy
When the People Fear Their Government There is Tyranny; When the Government Fears the People There is Liberty.
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Re: .45acp and Lee Factory Crimp Die

Post by J Miller »

I use my RCBS taper crimper after properly sizing and loading my cases. No need to "smooth out" anything with a Lee FCD if you've done the proper case prep and loading procedures.

Joe
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
DixieBoy
Senior Levergunner

Post by DixieBoy »

Joe - Thanks. I'd first heard of the FCD after looking at some acceptable - but not beautiful - reloads someone had in a case at the range. Another fellow mentioned the Lee FCD, and since I'd heard about it, figured I'd ask about it here.