That's it, I'm done!

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
awp101
Advanced Levergunner

That's it, I'm done!

Post by awp101 »

With a series of books I've been devouring for about 10 years now that is... :lol:

It's the Harry Turtledove series dealing with an alternate history of America that starts with the CSA winning the Civil War and what takes place over the next 80 years. It's a fascinating series of books (10 or 11, I lost count) and if you're familiar with American, world and military history you'll find lots of familiar events that don't take place in the exact same place or manner as what we know happened but that's part of the fun. You find yourself thinking "OK, that's based on such and such event!" or "Ah, that campaign follows this real one two wars earlier!" (Or in some cases events taking place today).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline-191
Timeline-191 is a fan name given to a series of Harry Turtledove alternate history novels, including How Few Remain as well as the Great War, American Empire, and Settling Accounts series. The name is derived from Robert E. Lee's Special Order 191, which detailed the Army of Northern Virginia's invasion of the Union in September 1862 during the American Civil War. The divergence occurs when Union forces do not find a copy of Special Order 191. The novels detail the consequences of this up until 1945 in the alternate world.