OT - Olympic Arms

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
cnjarvis
Senior Levergunner

OT - Olympic Arms

Post by cnjarvis »

I'm getting ready to purchase my first EBR. A M15-A4 from Olympic Arms. Can anyone tell me about this company?
cas
Senior Levergunner

Post by cas »

Hmmm..... without turning this into an AR forum, or a detailed thread....

No matter what name you threw out, there would be some people for, and some against. That's just the way it goes.

I have SOME experience with MANY different manufactures. Lots with some, just a little with others.

With getting specific, I will say if I were buying, Oly would not be my first choice. Nor would it be near the top of the list.
cnjarvis
Senior Levergunner

Post by cnjarvis »

I have to ask about these things because I don't have any experience with them and I can't get my hands on one without ordering it. I'd like a Rock River but I'm not willing to wait 4-6 months to get my hands on one. Can anyone recommend a forum where I can ask?
LakeCity
Levergunner

Post by LakeCity »

I have owned/own and shot about 2 dozen AR-15's. Colts, Oly's, Bushwackers, and other sundry makes. I shot NRA Highpower for several years with them and am classified as a Master. Back then I used a Colt AR-15 in Match Rifle and a home built DPMS AR-15 in Service Rifle.

With that said, I will say that I have never seen an Olympic Arms in competition. I owned an Olympic Plinker and it was a sorry excuse.

The primary problems with them are their low quality upper and lower receivers.