I've come across a Rem. Model 81 in .300 Savage...good price, or no?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
RSY
Senior Levergunner

I've come across a Rem. Model 81 in .300 Savage...good price, or no?

Post by RSY »

$350. On its face, seems pretty fair to me, but I am no expert on the Model 8/81.

Thanks, in advance.

Scott
Dave James
Levergunner 2.0

Re: I've come across a Rem. Model 81 in .300 Savage...good price, or no?

Post by Dave James »

What kind of condition?
RSY
Senior Levergunner

Post by RSY »

Looks pretty good. My gunsmith is selling it in his shop, so its been gone over. I still need to look at the bore, though.
wm
Senior Levergunner

Post by wm »

Assuming it has been well cared for or restored then I would say that is consistent with what I see in Mid Michigan. Not a great deal but not bad either.

IMO "Old" rifles suffer in value these days compared to modern sporting rifles and modern bolt actions in the view a significant number of gun owners minds. Collectors are supporting the market but most collectors are on the sun set side of 50 so I think there is a good chance that there will be waning market in the future.

Which is my way of saying don't worry about the price …… just enjoy it.

Wm
Jay Bird

Post by Jay Bird »

There's always going to be a demand for "Americana"....,especially in well known guns that have "clean lines"....The market has been inflated for the last 20 years and is coming more in line with real life prices.......this is for run-of-the-mill standard guns in standard configuration in regular condition. High condition rare guns have held their own for over a hundred years.