NRA Lever Action Silhouette shooting.

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Marvin S
Levergunner 3.0

NRA Lever Action Silhouette shooting.

Post by Marvin S »

So I plan to look into shooting some local monthly matches in an attempt to get out for more exercise. I started shooting Muzzleloading club matches again the first of the year and am having renewed success with using my lite weight 36 cal squirrel rifle. Bad back and two bad shoulders has made shooting heavy hard kicking rifles about like taking an butt kicking.

So for the three category's I may consider shooting (Small bore) Ill use my Marlin 1897 Texan with a skinner sight. For (Pistol Cartridge) I would like to try my Mod 53 Win in 25WCF. Do you all think it will do the job or should I go with a larger caliber I have such as 32WCF .357 Mag 38WCF or 45colt ? For (Rifle Cartridge) would a .357 Mag do it or will I have to go to a rifle cartridge ? I have 30wcf 32spl 32-40 33Win and 38-55.

Ill be using hand cast lead bullets either plain base or gas check.
AJMD429
Posting leader...

Re: NRA Lever Action Silhouette shooting.

Post by AJMD429 »

I've never shot silhouette other than the handgun metallic silhouette shooting back in the 1970's, but I'd think the first guns to take to matches would just be your FAVORITES that qualify; once you are comfortable with the rhythm and environment, THEN if you need a heavier bullet or flatter trajectory or whatever, swap to a different shootin' iron...
Doctors for Sensible Gun Laws
"first do no harm" - gun control LAWS lead to far more deaths than 'easy access' ever could.