does quickload show case capacities?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: Hobie, AmBraCol

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Post Reply
Message
Author
mickbr
Levergunner 2.0
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:29 pm

does quickload show case capacities?

#1 Post by mickbr » Mon May 13, 2019 6:38 am

I was trying to get the following for a friend, the case capacities eg water to the case mouth of the 500S&W, 50AE and the 500 linebaugh. Very elusive measurements to find online it seems. anyone with quickload know if it gives these figures?

3leggedturtle
Advanced Levergunner
Posts: 3248
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:34 am
Location: north of Palacios about 1400 miles

Re: does quickload show case capacities?

#2 Post by 3leggedturtle » Mon May 13, 2019 9:16 am

A post on shooters forumn shows .500 linebaugh as 59 grains of water.
.440 cor-bon which is a necked down .50 AE shows 50.5grs of water.
.500 s&w as 63.5 grs and .50ae as 51 grs. These last 2 dont specify it its water capacity they used or their powder.
Hope this helps. Todd/3leg
30/30 Winchester: Not accurate enough fer varmints, barely adequate for small deer; BUT In a 10" to 14" barrelled pistol; is good for moose/elk to 200 yards; ground squirrels to 300 metres

250 Savage: The Original short action, compact, high velocity cartridge.

User avatar
AJMD429
Posting leader...
Posts: 24522
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:03 am
Location: Hoosierland
Contact:

Re: does quickload show case capacities?

#3 Post by AJMD429 » Mon May 13, 2019 9:00 pm

Ammoguide.com has all that. Well worth the $19/year or whatever.
Doctors for Sensible Gun Laws
"first do no harm" - gun control LAWS lead to far more deaths than 'easy access' ever could.


Want REAL change? . . . . . "Boortz/Nugent in 2012 . . . ! "

User avatar
KWK
Levergunner 3.0
Posts: 849
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 10:31 am
Location: U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: does quickload show case capacities?

#4 Post by KWK » Mon May 13, 2019 11:59 pm

I have a list of case capacities received from a fellow who wrote a long defunct internal ballistics program. He measured the capacities himself.

.500 Linebaugh: 55.2 (.348 Win)
.500 S&W: 68.1 (Jamison)
.50 AE: 51.9 (Speer)

I don't currently have an installed copy of QuickLoad, but I'd wager it has the capacity of all three cases.

mickbr
Levergunner 2.0
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:29 pm

Re: does quickload show case capacities?

#5 Post by mickbr » Tue May 14, 2019 3:19 am

Thanks fellas perfect!

Bill in Oregon
Advanced Levergunner
Posts: 4607
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 10:05 am
Location: Alamogordo, NM

Re: does quickload show case capacities?

#6 Post by Bill in Oregon » Tue May 14, 2019 8:56 am

Just for total giggles, the Starline .56-50 Spencer brass holds 48.3 grains of water. Happened to measure this for another fella yesterday.
8)

User avatar
earlmck
Advanced Levergunner
Posts: 2822
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:10 am
Location: pert-neer middle of Oregon

Re: does quickload show case capacities?

#7 Post by earlmck » Thu May 16, 2019 1:00 am

QuickLoad has a generic "max case capacity, overflow" which is one of the data items you can modify to fit your brand of cases.
The greatest patriot...
is he who heals the most gullies.
Patrick Henry

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rgates and 21 guests