Hard @ Work

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Griff
Posting leader...

Hard @ Work

Post by Griff »

As some of you know, I'm a truck driver. I'm not exactly a just leave it alone, I like mine personalized. I have full fenders over my drives.

The brackets for which have been giving me some trouble the last couple of years... they've been there for about 15. No big surprise. So, on my way home I stopped and picked up some steel to build new ones, and planned on making them over the Christmas holidays. However, after dropping my trailer Monday at the factory where I pick up the majority of my loads, I started hearing a rattle from the back end. Yep, sure enough, the right front bracket had broken again.

The old brackets were made of 1-¼" square tubing with 3/16" wall. The steel I bought Monday was 2-½" x 1-½" x 3/16" wall. I wanted 1/4" wall, but no one had any in stock. I got enough to built new brackets for both sides. (I think)! :? I also bought some ¼" cold rolled plate to make some gussets out of. I shouldn't have bought it in a 4'x4' sheet. I'll have to go someplace to get it cut into manageable sizes. (I think I get the new brackets all tacked up, fitted in place and make some templates, and that way I can get them cut all at once.