Garage sale knives

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Camel73
Levergunner 2.0

Garage sale knives

Post by Camel73 »

So I was at a garage sale of some friends of ours and asked if they had any hunting knives, even tho I didn't see any. A few minutes later, these appear.

I thought they were pretty neat, so I adopted them upon a more than fair deal.

#1- Original Bowie Knife
Baron Solingen Germany
#2- Original Buffalo Skinner
Marveledge Solingen
#3- Japan

He couldn't give me any info on them at all so this is my first attempt at finding any info on these guys. The top and bottom ones have a few miles on them but the middle one seems to be in pretty good shape, other than needing a new handle. Not sure what marveledge means... anyone?
My first child - '94 30-30
Pete44ru
Advanced Levergunner

Re: Garage sale knives

Post by Pete44ru »

Nice ! (I luv yard sale knives - where I've also gotten a few)

I think "Marveledge" was an advertising come-on, and not a knifemaker, but am not positive.

Baron is only one of a long line of knifemakers & bladesmiths located in Solingen, Germany that came & went (mostly) for more then 260 years.

The more famous names are J.A.Henckles, Puma-Werke, Edge Brand, Linder, Kissing Cranes, Richartz, Hen & Rooster, Bulldog Brand, German Eye, Hubertus, Wingen, and Herbertz.

The only handles I've ever seen on a Solingen Bowie or Buffalo Skinner are stag, imitation stag, or a Boy Scout version of the Skinner with checkered black plastic (horn ? ) - but have never ran across one with stacked leather washers.

Image Image

Blaine
Posting leader...

Post by Blaine »