Adventures in Leverevolution for the 30-30

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
bonusmarple
Levergunner

Adventures in Leverevolution for the 30-30

Post by bonusmarple »

I am fairly new to reloading. 30-30 is my first rifle cartridge. I did some research on the net and bought a few powders to try with the speer 170 grain. I purchased Leverevolution, 3031, H4895, 4064, BL-C2, and 748. I decided to start with leverevolution.

The gun is a Winchester 94 24" rifle made in 2014. With factory ammo, the best I did with the scope at 100 yards was about 2" groups. Using that as a baseline, I loaded up a few different levels of leverevolution and headed to the range.

The first trip showed that 35.5 grains gave a 1.8" 3-shot group and 36.3 gave a 2.5" group. However that 2.5" group had the first two shots less than 1 inch apart. Also, I had 1 round that would not feed completely in the chamber such that gun could not go fully into battery. I did not notice this when I was cycling the lever but I couldn't disengage the grip safety. Upon inspection, the gun was not fully in battery and I could not force it in, so I ejected the round and went on with the rest of the shooting.

Using the bullet comparator, I noticed these rounds have the ogive further forward than factory. I decided to seat back about 5 thousand from 2.550 to 2.545. I also loaded 9 each of the 35.5 and 36.3 to shoot head to head to figure out the accuracy of both. Lastly I would chrono the rounds.