30/30 ackley for a 99 ?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
kooz
Levergunner 2.0

30/30 ackley for a 99 ?

Post by kooz »

I was wondering if I could get some of you to weigh-in on an idea. I have an old Savage 99 30/30 half octagon bbl that came from a family member, it is ruined as far as value due to the stock being carved up as well as the reciever being home engraved. Was wondering if this could be a good candidate for the Ackley conversion. Seems that this conversion would be a good step up in power combined with the fact that spire points can be used safley in the Savage. I have no experience with this conversion, could some of you who have done this give me some opinions. ? Thanks
TedH
Advanced Levergunner

Post by TedH »

I reamed out a Marlin 30-30 to the Ackley version. It was a simple task with a Marlin lever action, just remove the bolt and ream it. You can expect to see a 100-200 fps increase in velocity. Some claim improved accuracy, I didn't really see any change in accuracy in mine. Longer case life is a plus too.
Last edited by TedH on Sun Sep 23, 2007 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Post by J Miller »

kooz,

I don't know anything about the AI modifications to cartridges, but 100 to 200 fps seems to be a poor return for all the work and expense.

Were that rifle mine, I'd try the Hornady Leverevolution ammo and see what happens.

As for brass life I have no idea why people say 30-30 brass doesn't last long.
I've got lots of brass that has well over 10 full power loads on it and is still good.

Joe
Lastmohecken
Senior Levergunner

Post by Lastmohecken »