45 Colt Fans - Guns Mag Aug '13

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
JohndeFresno
Advanced Levergunner

45 Colt Fans - Guns Mag Aug '13

Post by JohndeFresno »

The August 2013 edition of Guns Magazine, on the stands and also viewable right now online (but not printable without paying), has a great article about the historic and presently loaded .45 Colt. John Barseness covered some outstanding high points within a little more than two full print pages (pp. 14-16, not counting ads).

Did you know that CUP and SAAMI psi designations are basically the same, at lower pressures? I've been handloading for several years, now; and I didn't. I couldn't see the use of consulting Lee's "Modern Reloading" 2nd Edition for some loads listed in CUP when I deal with psi loads with my software and other sources. But according to Mr. Barseness, you can use these interchangeably when you deal with the lower pressure loads; as I take it, non +P and non-magnum handgun loads.

For the moment, you can go to the online site and view this issue at:
http://fmgpublications.ipaperus.com/FMG ... /GUNS0813/

Then, flip through to page 14. There are some nice loads there, including the modest 6.0 grain Bullseye load that pushes 250 grains of swaged Pb at 821 fps in a "standard" six-spinner.

OK - I've shared my info. Now my question for any of the dozens of handloading veterans who regularly contribute online:
Where, approximately, does one draw the line and quit equating CUP with PSI pressures? In other words, should we not assume that it is safe to use CUP stats starting at, say, 15,000 psi?
Griff
Posting leader...