new to lever guns

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
silverback57
Levergunner 1.0

new to lever guns

Post by silverback57 »

well guys I have finally seen the light. I have been shooting for about 25 years. I have always been a bolt or semi auto guy. I recently started to get back into revolvers. Their simplicity, reliability and accuracy keep impressing me each time i go out to the range. I had been thinking that i ought to just go with a revolver as my primary and consolidate weapons. i really like the look/feel and manual of arms single and or DA/SA weapons. recent events only confirmed my position.

i have been using the ruger gp100 357,the ruger redhawk 45 lc and my two sweet ruger buckeye 38-40 10mm's, glock 20,vepr .308,saiga .223,swedish 1911 mauser 6.5 x 55 and of course ruger 10/22.

I want to consolidate cartridges so after some reaserch i thought i would start Looking for a nice rifle that could give decent SD/hunting. This has lead me to start looking for a decent 357 lever gun as they don't make 10 mm. The information that i have been able find suggests that a nice 357 load would get close to 30-30 ballistics. this really peaked my interest and confirmed my confidence in the 357 round.

I figure 357 revolers,a couple of nice lever guns (357 & 22lr) and my shot gun would cover just about all my short range needs. oh yeah can't go without at least one 22 lr handgun. I am thinking the ruger single ten and maybe the lcr for the pocket.

then for something more i would go with a bolt .308 since i have a nice stash of .308 ammo.